Welcome to Cherokee County, Kansas

Cherokee County, Kansas

Welcome to Cherokee County, Kansas, home to over 20,000 Kansans. Organized in 1866, the 590 square miles of our county call the city of Columbus our County Seat.

Cherokee county mapFirst named McGee in 1855, for E. McGee of Missouri, who was a member of the Territorial Legislature, the county was renamed Cherokee in 1866 from the fact that a large portion of the "Cherokee neutral lands," reservation of that tribe of Indians, was included in the geographical area of the county.





                                                                                                                                                                     2020 General Offical Election Results Are Posted here

2020 General Official Election Results By Precinct Listed here







Cherokee County Courthouse Visitors


Due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic, residents are encouraged to attempt to conduct their county business over the phone or online.  You can contact the office you need to speak to at the number listed below.  If you need to conduct business in person, the courthouse is open during regular business hours.  However, if you are ill, recently been in contact with someone who tested positive for COVID-19, we ask that you not visit until you are feeling better.  


Appraiser- 620-429-3984


County Attorney- 620-429-3836


County Clerk- 620-429-2042


County Commissioners- 620-429-3256


District Court Clerk- 620-429-3880


Court Services- 620-429-1643


Human Resources- 620-429-9526


Mapping and Addressing- 620-429-1645


Motor Vehicle Department - 620-429-2418


Register of Deeds - 620-429-3777


Road and Bridge - 620-429-3616


Treasurer- 620-429-3848


You can also visit our departments online at: www.cherokeecountyks.gov