MINUTES for March 20, 2023 BOARD of CHEROKEE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS

CONVENE

Chairman Cory Moates called the regular session of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners (the Board), to order at 8:30 AM on Monday, March 20, 2023, in the Commission Room, #109 of the Cherokee County Courthouse located at 110 W Maple St., Columbus, Kansas. County commissioner Myra Frazier opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Commissioners Cory Moates, Lorie Johnson, Myra Frazier, and county clerk Rebecca Brassart were present.

APPROVAL of MINUTES

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to approve the minutes as presented from the March 13, 2023, meeting. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

APPROVAL of PAYROLL

Commissioner Moates made motion to approve the payroll as presented. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

APPROVAL of PAYABLES

Commissioner Moates made a motion to approve the payables with a correction that the payment to Postalocity will come out of the appraisers office. Commissioner Frazier seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

NON-ELECT PERSONNEL EXECUTIVE

Commissioner Moates made a motion for a 10-minute non-elect personnel executive session with the Board to return at 8:50 a.m. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

No action was taken because of the executive session.

TRASH ISSUE NW 5TH and WEIR RD

John Johnson came before the Board to discuss the ongoing issue with trash being dumped around the NW 5th ST and Weir RD area. The issue had previously been turned over to the sheriff's office according to emergency manager Jared Glover. The Board requested Glover to check with county counselor Nathan Coleman about the drafting of possible resolution for issues like this one.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to adjourn the regular meeting so that the Board might go into a work session. Commissioner Jonson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner – Myra Carlisle Frazier

ATTEST: Resolved and ordered this 27th day of	of <u>March</u> 2023.
County Clerk - Rebecca S Brassart	CsMous!
County Clerk - Resecca S Brassart	Commissioner Chair – Cory Moates
	lone tonnon
	Commissioner - Lorie Johnson
	Munt rated brown