LEGAL NOTICE

In compliance with K.S.A. 25-209, and the General Election Laws of the State of Kansas, I submit herewith the list of National, State and District Candidates certified to me by the Secretary of State, and the list of those filed as candidates in Cherokee County in the forthcoming General Election to be held, Tuesday, November 5, 2024.

And I hereby give further notice that the said General election will be held at the usual voting places in Cherokee County, and that the polls will be opened and closed at the regular time specified by law for the conduct of elections. All precincts in the county will open at 7:00 am and will close at 7:00 pm.

Note: Underscored City is Ballot City for Candidate

NATIONAL OFFICES: PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES Kamala D. Harris and Tim Walz – Democratic, Donald J. Trump and JD Vance – Republican, Chase Oliver and Mike ter Maat – Libertarian, Robert F. Kennedy Jr. and Nicole Shanahan – independent **U S HOUSE OF**REPRESENTATIVES 2nd DISTRICT Nancy Boyda, 1236 N 100 Rd, <u>Baldwin City</u> 66006 – Democratic, Derek Schmidt, 416 N 5th St, <u>Independence</u> 67301 – Republican, John Hauer, 3623 SW Woodvalley Terrace, <u>Topeka</u> 66614 – Libertarian

STATE OFFICES: STATE SENATE 13th DISTRICT Austin B. Stapleton, 415 W Ford St, Apt C, Pittsburg 66762 – Democratic, Tim Shallenburger, 1538 Garfield Ave, Baxter Springs 66713 – Republican KANSAS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 1st DISTRICT Janie G. Jarrett, 11545 SW 50th St, Baxter Springs 66713 – Democratic, Dale Helwig, 3330 SW Clem Rd, Columbus 66725 – Republican

COUNTY OFFICES: COMMISSIONER – 2nd DISTRICT R Scott Williams, 1303 NW 82nd Ter, Columbus 66725 – Democratic, Jack Garner, 4307 SE Boston Mills Rd, Columbus 66725 – Republican COMMISSIONER – 3rd DISTRICT Cory Moates, 7897 SE Pence, Baxter Springs 66713 – Republican CLERK Rebecca Grant-Brassart, 3498 NW Center Star RD, Columbus 66725 – Republican TREASURER Heather Sapp, 4070 NE 60th St, Scammon 66773 – Republican REGISTER OF DEEDS Karen L. Johnston, 232 N Grandview, Columbus 66725 – Republican ATTORNEY Kurt Christian Benecke, 30141 Grapevine Ln, Carl Junction, MO 64834 – Republican SHERIFF Brian K. Henderson, 7715 SE Boone Lake Rd, Baxter Springs 66713 – Republican, Russ Harper, 2400 Sunset Ave, Baxter Springs 66713 – Democratic

TOWNSHIP OFFICES

THE FOLLOWING TOWNSHIPS WILL BE ELECTING A TREASURER & TRUSTEE, DEMOCRATIC AND REPUBLICAN. WRITE-IN LINES WILL BE PROVIDED:

Cherokee Twp: Treasurer Jason A. Smith, 9978 NE 50th, Weir 66781 – Democratic Trustee: Kimberly Grissom, 9423 NE 50th Weir 66781 – Republican Crawford Twp: Treasurer Phil Evans, 594 SE 40th St, Columbus 66725 – Republican Trustee Rosemarie L Heistand, 3689 SE Clem Rd, Columbus 66725 Garden Twp: Treasurer None Nominated Trustee Kyle Wade, 405 E 11th St, Baxter Springs 66713 – Republican Lola Twp: Treasurer Cindy Epler, 8770 SW Messer Rd, Columbus 66725 – Democratic Trustee None Nominated Lowell: Treasurer Sena Howard, 1813 N Columbus, Galena 66739 – Democratic Trustee Lee Howard, 1813 N Columbus, Galena 66739 – Democratic Lyon Twp: Treasurer Allen Dale Moore, 5680 SW 50th, Columbus 66725 – Republican Trustee None Nominated Mineral Twp: Treasurer None Nominated Trustee None Nominated Neosho Twp: Treasurer Alexis Lawellin, 8813 SW Beasley Rd, Chetopa 67336 – Republican Trustee None Nominated Pleasant View: Treasurer Eddy Alford, 2737 NE 107th Ter, Pittsburg 66762 – Republican Trustee Elita Alford, 2737 NE 107th Ter, Pittsburg 66762 – Republican Ross: Treasurer Jeannie Johnson, 411 Lyle St, West Mineral 66782 - Democratic Trustee Kurt Johnson, 411 Flemming St, West Mineral 66782 – Republican Salamanca: Treasurer Bob Brassart, 3498 NW Center Star Rd, Columbus 66725 – Republican Trustee Brenda Grant, 3300 NW Center Star Rd, Columbus 66725 – Republican Shawnee: Treasurer Becky Forgey, 999 SE 100th St, Galena 66739 - Republican Trustee None Nominated Sheridan: Treasurer None Nominated Trustee None Nominated Spring Valley: Treasurer Nancy King, 5075 SE Quaker Rd, Riverton 66770 – Republican Trustee Clark D. Hall, 5939 SE 20th St, Baxter Springs 66713 – Republican

CITY OFFICES

BAXTER SPRINGS CITY COUNCIL: FIRST WARD Donald J Schroedle, 710 E 12th St, Baxter Springs 66713 SECOND WARD No Filing, THIRD WARD Nathan Turner, 2135 Garfield, Baxter Springs 66713, Susan L Jones, 609 E 22nd St, Baxter Springs 66713 FOURTH WARD Jax Brumback, 2408 Lincoln, Baxter Springs 66713 COLUMBUS MAYOR: Grant Spieth 628 W Maple St, Columbus 66725 COLUMBUS TREASURER: Douglas C Mogle, 1949 Brassart Ln, Columbus 66725, COLUMBUS CITY COUNCIL: SECOND WARD Misty Spear, 125 Sunset Ave, Columbus 66725 FOURTH WARD No Filing COLUMBUS HOSPITAL BOARD: Chris Green, 310 S Indian Ave, Columbus 66725

JUDICIAL RETENTION

<u>COURT OF APPEALS JUDGES – for retention:</u> Sarah E. Warner – Position 4, Lenexa, David E. Bruns – Position 6, Olathe, G. Gordon Atcheson – Position 8, Overland Park, Karen Arnold-Burger – Position 9, Olathe, Rachel L. Pickering – Position 10, Topeka, Angela D. Coble – Position 12, Salina, Kathryn Gardner – Position 14, Topeka <u>DISTRICT COURT JUDGES – for retention:</u> M. Jennifer Brunetti – Division 1, Frontenac, Maradeth Frederick – Division 2, Mulberry <u>DISTRICT MAGESTRATE JUDGES – for retention:</u> Douglas R. Steele, Galena

IMPORTANT NOTE: Per KSA25-2908 "All Voters must provide Valid Photo Identification (Drivers' License, Military ID, Kansas College ID, Kansas ID or other qualifying ID card) to Vote." For a list of accepted identification and additional information go to sos.ks.gov/elections/voter-information.html.

(Seal)

I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 20th day of September 2024. /s/ Rebecca S. Brassart County Clerk and County Election Officer

Publish 3 Times September 20, 2024 - September 27, 2024 - October 4, 2024