## Minutes for July 6, 2020 Cherokee County Commissioners Cherokee County Kansas

Chairperson Frazier called the regular session of the Cherokee County Commissioners to order at 9:00 a.m. Monday July 6,2020 in room #220 of the Cherokee County Courthouse Located at 110 West Maple, Columbus, Kansas. Cherokee County resident Audie Tash opened with Prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Commissioners Myra Frazier, Neal Anderson, Corey Moates, County Counselor Barbara Wright, and County Clerk, Kyle Rennie were present. Larry Hiatt member of the press also present. Approximately 30 Cherokee County residents were also present.

Commissioner Anderson moved to accept and approve the June 29, 2020 minutes. Commissioner Moates  $2^{nd}$ , motion passed 3-0.

Commissioner Frazier opened discussion on the State of Kansas EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 20-52. An order requiring masks or other face coverings in public as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Several concerned residents of Cherokee County spoke passionately as whether to comply, or to opt out of Governor Kelley's EXECUTIVE ORDER 20-52.

Jake Conard, County Attorney, explained the legalities of enforcing the order.

Commissioner Frazier spoke in favor of wearing masks, Commissioner Moates commented his vote would reflect the voice of his district. Commissioner Anderson remarked while everyone should be aware of and take measures to practice safety, he would vote to opt out of EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 20-52.

Commissioner Moates moved to exempt Cherokee County from The Mask Mandate. Commissioner Anderson 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 2-1, Commissioner Frazier opposed.

Commissioner Anderson moved to break and to reconvene in room # 34. Commissioner Frazier 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0.

Meeting reconvened in room #34 at 10:00 a.m.

Cassie Carter, a Cherokee County resident addressed THE BOARD asking to have North & South platted Oak Street and East and West platted Highland Ave. in Lawton vacated.

Commissioner Frazier moved to vacate city Lawton roads. Commissioner Moates 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0.

Commissioner Frazier moved to open Public Hearing to vacate two Lawton alleys. Commissioner Moates  $2^{nd}$ , motion passed 3-0.

Tim Shallenberger, Mayor of Baxter Springs, presented the Commission with a list of projects that Baxter Springs wishes to be funded by the Cares Act funding.

Commissioner Moates moved to adopt Resolution 17-20 (Cherokee County, Kansas, Coronavirus Relief Fund Resolution) Commissioner Anderson 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0.

Sheriff Groves, Betha Elliot, and Jason Allison updated THE BOARD on positive cases and hospitalizations of COVID-19 in the County.

Janet Miller, Economic Development, submitted a revised CDBG-CV Grant Proposed Meal Program Allocation Budget.

Commissioner Frazier moved to accept the CDBG-CV Proposed Meal Program Allocation. Commissioner Moates 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0.

Commissioner Frazier moved to go into executive session at 11:08 a.m. with County Counselor Barbara Wright and Economic Development Director, Janet Miller for contracts and to reconvene at 11:25 a.m. Commissioner Anderson 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0. Meeting reconvened at 11:25 a.m. No action taken.

Road & Bridge Supervisor, Leonard Vanatta reported a demonstrator road maintainer would be delivered July 7, 2020 and would be taken to the South West part of the County. Leonard also reported on other County Road projects.

Matt Napier submitted the Sewer District budget. THE BOARD is taking under advisement.

Commissioner Frazier moved to recess for lunch at 1:00 p.m. and to reconvene at 1:30 p.m. Commissioner Anderson 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0. Meeting reconvened at 1:40 p.m.

THE BOARD discussed the Commissioners Budget, Sewer District Budget, Counselor Budget, Road & Bridge Budget, and Employees Benefits Budget.

Commissioner Moates moved to adjourn until the next regular session July 13, 2020. Commissioner Anderson 2<sup>nd</sup>, motion passed 3-0. Meeting adjourned at 2:27 p.m.

ATTEST: Resolved and ordered this July 13, 2020

**County Clerk** 

Commissioner

Commissioner

Commissioner