MINUTES for November 6, 2023 BOARD of CHEROKEE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS

CONVENE

Chairman Cory Moates called the regular session of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners (the Board), to order at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, November 6, 2023, in the Commission Room, #109 of the Cherokee County Courthouse located at 110 W Maple St., Columbus, Kansas. County Commissioner Myra Frazier opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Commissioners Cory Moates, Lorie Johnson, Myra Frazier, County Clerk Rebecca Brassart, Road & Bridge Supervisor Cody Zook, and County Counselor Jake Conard were present.

APPROVAL of MINUTES

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to approve the minutes as presented from the October 30, 2023, meeting. Commissioner Moates seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

ROAD & BRIDGE

County Road & Bridge Supervisor Cody Zook came before the Board to inform the Board that he had received a cost estimate of \$1600 per mile to have old 96 highway stripped. The cost estimate would be to do center and edge line. They also gave a cost estimate of \$1100 per mile for edge lines

NON-ELECT EXECUTIVE SESSION HEALTH DEPARTMENT

Commissioner Moates made a motion for a 15-minute non-elect personnel executive session with the Board, County Health Department Director Peyton Kessler, and County Counselor Jake Conard to return at 11:05 a.m. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

No action was taken because of the executive session.

ATTORNEY CLIENT PRIVILEGE EXECUTIVE

Commissioner Moates made a motion for a 20-minute attorney client privilege executive session with the Board, Register of Deed Barb Bilke, County Clerk Rebecca Brassart, Klenda Austerman LLC Law Firm, and County Counselor Jake Conard to return at 10:20 a.m. Commissioner Frazier seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

No action was taken because of the executive session.

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT FEMA

Discussion surrounded the FEMA resolution that is to be adopted today 11-6-2023. Emergency Manager Matt Haviland stated that he was not in favor of the amount of increase which was approved per motion last week during the week. Haviland went on to state that he had only requested \$100.00. Commissioner Frazier stated that this should have been addressed in last week's meeting as the resolution has already been written and is to be adopted today. Commissioner Johnson stated her opposition to the amount of increase in the FEMA rates that was approved in the motion last week. Johnson went on to state that as much as she respects both Commissioner Frazier and Commissioner Moates, she has had more time to think about it and she feels that the increase is to high.

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to adopt resolution 09-2023, a resolution by the Cherokee County, Kansas Board of Commissioners establishing rates and policy related to FEMA flood property leases. Commissioner Moates seconded the motion. The motion passed 2-1 with Commissioner Johnson opposing the resolution.

HEALTH DEPARTMENT

Health Department Director Peyton Kessler came before the Board to discuss the 2023 budget and the hiring of new employees.

Commissioner Moates made a motion to approve the hiring of Melody Nelson as a registered nurse for the Health Department at a rate of \$20.00/hr. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

COUNTY CLERK

County Clerk Rebecca Brassart came before the Board to present the Modus agreement which had been reviewed by County Counselor Jake Conard who found no issues with the agreement.

Commissioner Moates made a motion to approve the signing of the agreement for software services with InTech Software Solutions Inc. in the amount of 3500. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Moates made a motion to adjourn the regular meeting. Commissioner Myra seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

ATTEST: Resolved and ordered this 13th day of November 2023.

County Clerk, Rebecca S Brassart

Commissioner Lorie Johnson

Commissioner Chair Cory Moates

Commissioner, Myra Carlisle Frazier