MINUTES for July 03, 2023 BOARD of CHEROKEE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS' CHEROKEE COUNTY, KANSAS

CONVENE

Chairman Cory Moates called the regular session of the Cherokee County Board of Commissioners (the Board), to order at 9:00 AM on Monday, July 03, 2023, in the Commission Room, #109 of the Cherokee County Courthouse located at 110 W Maple St., Columbus, Kansas. County Commissioner Lorie Johnson opened the meeting with prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Commissioners Cory Moates, Lorie Johnson, Myra Frazier, County Clerk Rebecca Brassart, County Counselor Nathan Coleman, Extension Board Members and News Report owner Larry Hiatt were present.

APPROVAL of MINUTES

Commissioner Johnson made a motion to approve the minutes as presented from the June 26, 2023, meeting. Commissioner Frazier seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

NON-ELECT EXECUTIVE MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Commissioner Moates made a motion for a 5-minute non-elect personnel executive session with the Board, County Counselor Nathan Coleman, and Magistrate Judge Doug Steele to return at 9:20 a.m. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

FINANCIAL RESOLUTION

Commissioner Moates made a motion to approve 05-2023 a resolution to except out of KSA 75-1125A for the year 2022. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Moates made a motion to approve 06-2023 a resolution to except out of KSA 75-1125A. for the year 2023. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

STOP LOSS

The Board reviewed the stop loss policy. Commissioner Moates made a motion to submit and approve the application for insurance stop loss. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

APPRAISER

County Appraiser David Thornton presented a pay increase for Taylor Brown. Commissioner Moates made a motion to increase the pay for Taylor Brown from \$17.82/hr to \$19.38/hr. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

HEALTH DEPARTMENT DIRECTOR

Commissioner Moates made a motion to appoint Peyton Kessler as the new Health Department Director, the County Health Officer and to remove Brenda Clugston as the interim Director. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

2024 BUDGET PROPOSALS

EXTENSION

Cherokee County Extension Board led by Dale Helwig came before the Board to present and discuss their 2024 budget. Commissioner Frazier presented questions to Helwig as to how much K-State contributes to the employees' health benefits. Helwig stated he was unsure as to the percentage which is paid by K-State.

COUNTY TREASURER

County Treasurer Raven Youngblood came before the Board to discuss her 2024 budget. Due to moving her starting pay to \$15.00 to keep employees, Youngblood requested a \$9,000 increase to her budget.

REGISTER of DEEDS

County Register of Deeds Barb Bilke came before the Board to discuss her 2024 budget. Commissioner Frazier asked Bilke why she felt that she needed 3 people in her office. Barb stated that due to back indexing, passports, and recordings that her office stays busy. Commissioner Johnson asked if it could be a possibility to have her office do driver's license in her office.

APPRAISER/GIS

County Appraiser David Thornton came before the Board to discuss his 2024 budget. Commissioner Johnson asked what was included in his professional development line. Thornton stated that line was for classes in which his employees take. The Board and Thornton discussed which line items he could pull money out of to tighten his budget.

HEALTH DEPARTMENT

County Health Department Administrator Peyton Kessler and Administrator Deputy Brenda Clugston came before the Board to discuss the 2024 Health Department budget. Brenda brought the Board a new updated copy of their budget.

REVIEW COUNTY BUDGETS

The Board reviewed all County budgets for the remainder of the meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Frazier made a motion to adjourn the regular meeting. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

County Clerk - Rebecca S Brassart

Commissioner Chair - Cory Moates

Commissioner Lorie Johnson

Commissioner - Myra Carlisle Frazier