LEGAL NOTICE

General Election Cherokee County, Kansas

In compliance with K.S.A. 25-209, Notice is hereby given the following persons will appear on the ballot for the National/State/District/County/Local general election to be held, Tuesday, November 8, 2022.

NATIONAL OFFICES **U S SENATE** Mark R. Holland – Democratic Jerry Moran - Republican David C Graham – Libertarian U S HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 2nd DISTRICT Patrick Schmidt – Democratic Jake LaTurner – Republican STATE OFFICES GOVERNOR/LT.GOVERNOR Laura Kelly/David Toland – Democratic Derek Schmidt/Katie Sawyer – Republican Seth Cordell/Evan Laudick-Gains – Libertarian Dennis Pyle/Kathleen E. Garrison - Independent SECRETARY OF STATE Jeanna Repass – Democratic Scott J. Schwab - Republican Cullene Lang - Libertarian ATTORNEY GENERAL Chris Mann – Democratic Kris Kobach - Republican STATE TREASURER Lynn W Rogers – Democratic Steven Johnson – Republican Steve Roberts – Libertarian COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE Kiel Corkran – Democratic Vicki Schmidt - Republican KANSAS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 1ST DISTRICT Paul D. Rogers – Democratic Michael Houser - Republican STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION - 9TH DISTRICT Jim Porter – Republican COUNTY OFFICES <u>COMMISSIONER – 1st DISTRICT</u> Myra Carlisle Frazier – Republican ATTORNEY (Unexpired 2 vr. Term) Nathan R. Coleman – Republican COUNTY CLERK (Unexpired 2 vr. Term) Rebecca Grant-Brassart – Republican **TOWNSHIP OFFICES - Clerk** Cherokee Twp - Dorothy Smith - Republican Crawford Twp - Marion Atkinson - Democratic Crawford Twp - Jon Heistand - Republican Garden/Lowell Twp – George T Moss – Republican Garden/Stanley Mines Twp – George T Moss – Republican Lola Twp – Rod Monroe - Republican Lowell Twp – Barbara E. Hixenbaugh – Republican Lyon/Lyon Twp - Clyde Burton - Republican Mineral Twp - Marva Holt - Democratic Neosho/Faulkner Twp – Zachary R. Lawellin – Democratic Neosho/Melrose Twp - Zachary R. Lawellin - Democratic Pleasant View Twp - Angie Rippel - Republican Ross/Belleview Twp - Matthew J. Ross - Democratic Ross/Roseland Twp – Matthew J. Ross – Democratic Ross/West Mineral Twp - Matthew J. Ross - Democratic Salamanca Twp - Waycee L. Brassart - Republican Shawnee Twp – Justin Moore – Republican Sheridan Twp - Peggy Campbell - Republican Spring Valley/ Neutral Twp - Laura Atkinson - Republican Spring Valley/ Spring Valley Twp – Laura Atkinson – Republican **Baxter Springs for City Council** Kelly R. Abbott - Ward 1 Steven Dardenne – Ward 2

Jax Brumback - Ward 4 **City of Columbus Hospital Board** Janet Lindsey SUPREME COURT JUSTICE Melissa Taylor Standridge - Position 1 Dan Biles - Position 2 K.J. Wall - Position 3 Marla Luckert - Position 5 Evelyn Z. Wilson - Position 6 Caleb Stegall - Position 7 **COURT OF APPEALS JUDGES – for retention** Stephen D. Hill - Position 1 Lesley Ann Isherwood - Position 2 Amy Fellows Cline - Position 3 Kim R. Schroeder - Position 5 Henry W. Green, Jr. - Position 7 Tom Malone - Position 11 Jacy J. Hurst - Position 13 **DISTRICT COURT JUDGES – for retention** Fred W. Johnson - District 11, Division 3 Lori A. Bolton Fleming - District 11, Division 4 Kurtis I. Loy - District 11, Division 5 Steve A. Stockard - District 11, Division 6 **Public Demonstration Notice of Testing** A Public Demonstration/Test of the Election System Software, "AIS" optical scanning equipment, will be held Thursday November 3, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. in the Clerk's Office in the County Courthouse as per K.S.A. 25-4411(b) & 25-4610(b). **Voting Precincts in Cherokee County** It is hereby noted that the polls will be open at all voting precincts from seven (7) o'clock a.m. until seven (7) o'clock p.m. at the following locations: Baxter Springs Wards 1, 2, 3, 4 New Baxter Community Bldg Columbus Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Columbus Community Bldg Galena Wards 1, 2, 3, 4 Galena City Hall Community Room Scammon Wards 1, 2, 3 Scammon City Hall Weir City Weir Civic Club Bldg

Cherokee	Weir Civic Club Bldg
Crawford	County Extension Office
Garden/Lowell	House of Prayer Church
Garden/Stanley Mines	Galena City Hall Courtroom
Lola	County Extension Office
Lowell	Galena City Hall Courtroom
Lyon/Lyon	Center Christian Church
Mineral	Scammon City Hall
Neosho/Faulkner	Center Christian Church
Neosho/Melrose	Center Christian Church
Pleasant View	Weir Civic Club Bldg
Ross/Belleview	Roseland City Hall
Ross/Roseland	Roseland City Hall
Ross/West Mineral	West Mineral Fire Department
Salamanca	County Extension Office
Shawnee	House of Prayer Church
Sheridan	West Mineral Fire Department
Spring Valley/Neutral	County Extension Office
Spring Valley/Spring Valley	New Baxter Community Bldg
Votor Degistration	

Voter Registration

Garv Sisco - Ward 3

You may register to vote at the following location during their regular business hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm. at the county clerk election office located at 110 W. Maple St, room 131 Columbus, KS 66725, and online at <u>www.kssos.org</u>, Department of Motor Vehicles; SRS offices, etc.;U.S. Mail (request Kansas Voter Registration Application by mail or telephone); also available in Online Voter Registration;

<u>www.voteks.gov</u> - Click on Register to Vote and follow directions. A citizen of the United States who is eighteen (18) years of age and upwards or will have attained the age of eighteen (18) years at the next election, must register before he or she may vote.

When a voter has been registered according to law his or her registration shall continue to be valid until one of the following occurs:

1. The Voter changes residence, outside of his/ her voting precinct boundary.

2. The Voter fails to vote in two consecutive state general elections

If either of the above occurs, you must re-register. Any person may apply in person or by mail to the County Election Officer to re-register. The application shall be signed under penalty of perjury.

Advance Voting by Mail: K.S.A. 25-1123

<u>Any</u> registered voter is eligible to vote by Advance Ballot, beginning Wednesday October 19, 2022 (20 days prior to said General Election). Monday, November 1, 2022, is the last day voters may apply for Advance Ballots for General Election per K.S.A.25-1122(e)(4). Applications for Advance Ballots are available at the Cherokee County Clerk's Office or by calling (620) 429-9563. A printable application for an Advance Ballot is available on the Kansas Secretary of State website <u>www.kssos.org</u>.

Returning Advance Ballots:

In person ballots must be returned by 7:00 P.M. on Election Day to any Polling Location within the County or to the County Election Office, County Courthouse, 110 W. Maple ST, Columbus, KS 66725. By Mail: Ballot must be postmarked on or before Tuesday, November 8, 2022 (Election Day) and received in County Election Office by Monday, November 14, 2022, the deadline for receipt of Advance Ballots. K.S.A. 25-1132.

Early Voting:

Early voting (In House/In Person) is available at Cherokee County Courthouse (Clerk's Office) Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm beginning Wednesday October 26, 2022, thru Monday 12:00 Noon, November 7, 2022. K.S.A. 25-1122(g)

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Per K.S.A. 25-2908 "All Voters must provide Valid Photo Identification (Drivers' License, Military ID, Kansas College ID, Kansas ID or other qualifying ID card) to Vote." For a list of accepted identification and additional information go to <u>www.gotvoterid.com</u> or call 1.800.262.vote.

(Seal)

I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 30th day of September 2022. /s/ Rebecca S. Brassart County Clerk and County Election Officer

Publish October 4, 2022