Notice is hereby given pursuant to the Kansas Noxious Weed Law to every person who owns or supervises land in Cherokee County that noxious weeds growing or found on such land shall be controlled and eradicated. Control is defined as preventing the production of viable seed and the vegetative spread of the plant.
Failure to observe this notice may result in Cherokee County:
- Serving a legal notice requiring control of the noxious weeds within a minimum of five days. Failure to control the noxious weeds within the time period allowed may result in the county treating the noxious weeds at the landowners expense and placing a lien on the property if the bill is not paid within 30 days or,
- filing criminal charges for non-compliance. Conviction for non-compliance may result in a fine of $100 per day of non-compliance with a maximum fine of $1500.
The public is also hereby notified that it is a violation of the Kansas Noxious Weed Law to barter, sell or give away infested nursery stock or livestock feed unless the feed is fed on the farm where grown or sold to a commercial processor that will destroy the viability of the noxious weed seed. Custom harvesting machines must be free of all weed seed and litter when entering the County and when leaving a field infested with noxious weeds. County noxious weed officials shall have at all reasonable times, free access to enter upon premises and to inspect property, both real and personal, regardless of location, in connection with the administration of the Kansas Noxious Weed Law. Additional information may be obtained from the Weed Department.
information may be obtained from the Weed Department.