Tuesday, September 27, 2016


to Cherokee County, home to over 22,000 Kansans.  Organized in 1866, the 590 square miles of our county call the city of Columbus our County Seat.

First named McGee in 1855, for E. McGee of Missouri, who was a member of the Territorial Legislature, the county was renamed Cherokee in 1866 from the fact that a large portion of the "Cherokee neutral lands," reservation of that tribe of Indians, was included in the geographical area of the county.

from History of Kansas, Noble Prentis, (Winfield: E.P. Greer. 1899)

 The Cherokee County Courthouse will be closed on Monday, October 10, 2016 in observance of the Columbus Day Holiday.  The Courthouse will reopen for regular business on Tuesday, October 11, 2016.